Promotional Ceremony

promotionalceremony_001, originally uploaded by roanne0012.

A friend of mine’s husband was being promoted to LTC (Army) and asked me if I could be their “official photographer” for the promotional ceremony and reception. Since it was during my lunch hour (and a little more), I said sure, why not.

I’ve never seen the place where the ceremony was going to take place so I wasn’t sure what lens to bring. If it was a large enough space, I was going to use the 50mm, since it’s great for portraits and very sharp. I wasn’t sure, so I brought the 50mm and the fx 28-106mm. The space was kind of small, so I used the 28-105. My SB-600 held up well for the most part, but there were a few pictures where it just didnt fire – guess I was shooting too quick for the setting it was in. Luckily, the shots (without flashes) actually turned out pretty nice – this one in particular.

The pictures turned out pretty well that I didn’t really have to do much editing in Lightroom. Adjusted the contrasts in the b/w pictures and increased the saturation in certain colors. I had the camera’s pictures set on neutral, so I did have to do some adjustment in Lightroom.

After I gave them the CD of ALL the pictures, I asked if I could use some of the pictures for my future “portfolio” and they gladly said yes.

The rest of some of the pictures are HERE.

Leave a comment