Watermarking in Lightroom 2.0

By LogisticalWin

July 6, 2009

Category: gear & stuff

Leave a Comment »

I’ve been meaning to watermark the photos I’ve been uploading on my website, flickr, on my blog, etc. lately and until this past week, I haven’t had any time to seriously look into it.  Late one night, I thought I’d give it a try.  The funny thing about Lightroom is watermarking is pretty limited.  Certain web galleries that are provided under lightroom will allow it, but others do not.  And if you’re looking to export a jpeg with your watermark, well… Lightroom doesn’t have that capability.

The solution?  Install a plug-in.  The one I’ve found, which I’ve been happy with so far is Timothy Armes’ LR2/Mogrify.  Not only does it watermark, but it adds borders, multiple text annotations, etc. etc.  I found out about through Camera Dojo.  What it does is it adds the watermark, annotations, etc during the export.  The downside – you don’t see what it looks like until you export – so you may export a few times to get it right, but once you do, the settings are saved.  I’m not going to go into detail on how to use and acquire this helpful little plug-in because you can read that in the links provided.  The plug-in is free if you’re only exporting 10 images at a time.  If you make a donation, you can choose the amount to donate, you are emailed a serial number to unlock the plug-in and you’re free to export as many images as you’d like.

Leave a Reply

